Vermont’s new Data Broker Regulation (“Regulation”) takes effect on January 1, 2019. Last week, the Vermont Attorney General issued guidance on the Regulation, which helps address questions on process and scope.
Under the Regulation, data brokers: (1) must register annually with the Vermont Secretary of State; and (2) have a duty to protect personally identifiable information of Vermont residents. Businesses that fall within the definition of a data broker for 2018 must register as a data broker by mail or through the online form by January 31, 2019. There is a filling fee of $100. Businesses that don’t register by the deadline and are found to be data brokers face penalties of $50 per day up to a maximum of $10,000 per year, in addition to relief resulting from a violation of the Regulation.
For key takeaways, including how the guidance defines "data broker," please visit our Focus on the Data blog.
Any business that operated as a Data Broker in 2018 is required to register by January 31, 2019.